Wk4- Art Activity- Art Care Package

 

 

IMG_20170218_133916657.jpgWhen I heard about the opportunity to make the Art Care Package, I was excited. I knew instantly that I wanted to send it to my girlfriend. In the past few years of dating long distance, we have always sent each other funny gifts, hand made cards with inside jokes, and little bits and pieces of our lives to keep an intimate touch with each other. When I began to gather items for the package I drew from many experiences we have shared together. When the items began to pile up and I had to sort through things that would and would not fit into the ACP, I reflected on the feelings inside all of these items and I was surprised with how many ideas one object can contain within itself.

The assignment on beacharts.ca calls for art. Being an engineering student, I have not hoarded many things with artistic imagery. However, after two years of long distance, I consider the crafting of messages with symbolic value to be an art in itself. Things I have included in this package all have a greater value in them.

To begin with, I have a paper mache dog that I have crafted from hours of sketching and profuse sweating. and tears. This dog originated from a sketch of a black lab that I created once. Two summers ago, my girlfriends black lab had passed away. In a way, this paper mache dog was a memorabilia for that dog. It was the only piece of art that I had created in my current possession, and I think that she would like to have it.

To continue, I have included a book titled How We Got To Now. I recieved this from my internship at Syska Hennessy Group last summer. I am a curious individual, so I like to read about the creation of things and this book was just that: a necessary piece of literature that holistically accounts for a few mundane ideas and ties them into history. Think of a history book about the United States but instead of civil wars and land acquisition they are discussing how things like glass and the idea of “cold” have intertwined their way into society and changed the world. For anyone reading this, its a great short read and I would recommend it to any curious souls out there. Truly a masterpiece, in my opinion.

The packaging container for the unsalted organic butter from Trader Joes (R) is more of a story. Although a box of creamy dreamy delicious butter alone can be enough to sweep Americans off of their feet, I am using this packaging to signify the end of a one month vegetarian diet that my girlfriend and I just recently completed. I chose the butter packaging because the oils we use to cook everyday are olive oil, butter and coconut oil. We chose to cook the majority of our meals over this month period because it would make the vegetarian diet more of an exploration of food rather than a self punishment for our holiday food choices. The mainstays that we kept making over the month of January are something we choose to keep cooking, vegetables are cheap!

I also included a Hawaiian key chain to represent the vacation in Hawaii we were lucky enough to embark on last year.

The hawaiian macadamia nuts and deer call are more of an inside joke than anything. They are representative of

  1. How is sending someone an ACP similar to sending someone a Snapchat?

Sending someone and ACP is similar to sending a Snapchat because snapchats can contain many different elements in one simple package, similar to an ACP. The snapchat and ACP have personal touches and are aimed to convey a story for the audience.

2.How is sending someone an ACP different from sending them a Snapchat?

Sending someone an ACP will require a lot more thought and anticipation than a Snapchat. I believe that the ACP will instill an emotion within the viewer rather than a snapchat. ACP’s also last longer than a snapchat as well. Tangible items can be appreciated more than photo media.

  3. What do you think of ephemera? Is it precious? Or trash? Does it gain in value over time? Does your grandma’s parking ticket from half a century ago mean something to you? What about her tickets from Woodstock? What might your grandkids think if you one day gave them the bead bracelet you wore at Coachella?

Ephemera can be whatever one makes of it. I personally do not connect emotions with old items. Items circulating in everyday life connect with me more. I do not know why I am not appreciative of ephemera. If I were to pass down an object I would have to tell someone why it is special in order for them to think of it as special. But I think that an item should be able to speak for itself in order for it to be regarded highly.

4.Is there a difference between art that is seen by many people, like a painting in the Museum of Modern Art, and art that is seen by few, like the ACP you send to someone?

There is a difference between the scales of art studied here. Art carries meaning and story, and people can connect with it in different ways. In the ACP, the contents were placed with purpose for one person to read or see. Art galleries are more generalized and can not tell as personal as a story to the everyday viewer.

5.You can take a Snapchat and a friend on the other side of the globe can view it, all within seconds. To make an ACP and send it even to a nearby friend will take days. Does this time and effort difference mean something? How is fast better? How is slow better?

Time and effort means something, but only if they are recognized by someone else. Importance relies on appreciation and if someone is not willing to appreciate a tangible item that requires labor and time to recieve, you may as well send them a snapchat of the same thing.

As far as speed is concerned, faster has always been important. However, human communication is something that involves emotion and interaction. Both of these require a human touch and cannot be something as instant as “send” and then dissappear once received.

      6. People sometimes say things like prepare a meal with love. Can you prepare a meal with love as fast as you can get food at a McDonald’s drive-thru? Does an ACP have the possibility of containing a sort of “love” different from a Snapchat?

You can not possibly prepare a meal with love as fast as you can get one at McDonalds. However, not everyone wants to eat at McDonalds, and there is reason behind that. This is due to the fact that intent must be placed behind every piece of a meal prepared, and whether it is the last ingredients in the cupboard or just what you have always made for your guests, there is some personal connection behind every part. Maybe that person loves lemon. So you make them a dish with a lot of lemon juice in it. Aside from interpreting preparing a meal with love literally, something made with personal backing and thought is obviously going to mean more to someone who appreciates the thought of them rather than a microwave dinner. As I have learned from my long distance relationship, ACP ‘s carry personal touches that snapchats can not carry.

Leave a Reply

