Wk2 – Classmate Conversation – Esmeralda Melchor

In this week’s series of classmate conversations, I spoke with Esmeralda Melchor. She was a friendly Long Beach native who is making her way through California State University, Long Beach in her first year. While I spoke with her, I learned she worked at a candy store over near the Pike. I asked her if she was hopelessly addicted to candy, expecting the worst. It turns out that she’s actually sick of candy and has zero cravings towards sweets. Maybe one day I can achieve her level of mastery. I just barely made it out of a terrible dare-turned-reality meatless January, and I am dearly missing my meat products.

She enjoys doing all of the other art activities in class, as do I. We discussed our art project “Corpse Landscape” plans a little further and also talked about the plaster casting at Seal Beach.

I asked her what the color read meant to her. She said that red meant love or hate, depending on the context. I agree with her position, many emotions come from just a few colors. Context is everything when it comes to this topic.

Below is our picture.

img_5430

We both look forward to more! Stay tuned for my next blog posting with my “Corpse Landscape”.

You can find her wordpress at http://esmeraldamelchor.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

